قصصنا

بونيفيس

أفريقيا، كينيا

بونيفيس طفل مفعم بالنشاط والحيوية، يبلغ من العمر 13 عاماً، وهو طالب بمدرسة “جوباي” الابتدائية بمنطقة “بوندو” الريفية بالقرب من بحيرة فكتوريا بكينيا. ونظراً لشخصيته القيادية في مدرسته ومجتمعه، جرى انتخاب بونيفيس مديراً للنادي الصحي بمدرسة “جوباي” الابتدائية ، حيث يعمل على تثقيف الطلاب حول استخدام عبوات تنقية المياه وغسل اليدين والصحة العامة. وبفضل عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة، تعرف هذا الشاب الطموح وزملاؤه في المدرسة على تأثير مياه الشرب النظيفة ودورها في القضاء على الأمراض والتخفيف من الغياب المدرسي؛ ما أتاح لهم التركيز على دروسهم وتحقيق معدات نجاح عالية

إيستر لين آن جين ج

الأمريكيتين، هايتي

تتعيش أسرة إيستر وجين في منطقة “توربيك” بإقليم “سود” بهايتي. رُزِق إيستر لين وزوجته جين بإبنتين هما “بريسليا” وأبيجيل”، وولد أسماه “بيير لويس”. في عام 2016، اجتاح إعصار ماثيو مناطق شاسعة من هايتي حيث دمر المنازل وكل شيء اعترض طريقه. قبل هبوب الإعصار، كانت الأسرة تؤمن احتياجاتها من المياه من أحد الآبار. وبعد اجتياح الإعصار للبلاد، تلوثت مياه البئر، ورغم هذا استمر السكان في استخدامها؛ إذ لم يكن أمامهم بديلٌ آخر. فبدأ المرض يتفشى بين السكان بسبب العدوى المنقولة بواسطة المياه، وانتاب جين الخوف على أطفالها من الإصابة بالأمراض. وبعد توزيع عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل وتدريب السكان على استخدامها، عاد الشعور بالأمان إلى جين وأسرتها. واليوم عاد أطفالها إلى المدرسة، ويعمل المجتمع بأسره على استعادة جودة المياه المستخرجة من مصادر المياه الدائمة

ناو فاو إتش

ميانمار، آسيا

تقطن ناو فاو برفقة زوجها وابنها في قرية “جواي توك تشونج” في ميانمار. ويبلغ عدد المنازل في هذه القرية 100 منزل، تستخدم جميعها عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل بالتعاون مع منظمة الرؤية العالمية. وقد أثبتت عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل فعاليتها في ميانمار التي تُعد عرضةً للكوارث الطبيعية، كالفيضانات والأعاصير والجفاف والزلازل. في أعقاب إعصار نرجس عام 2008، تعرضت ميانمار لنقص حاد في المياه النظيفة الصالحة للشرب،فبادرت شركة بروكتر آند جامبل إلى توفير عبوات تنقية المياه لأفراد المجتمع المحلي في ميانمار حيث تسكن ناو فاو.

مريم وأسرتها

اوغندا ، افريقيا

تبلغ مريم من العمر 58 عامًا، وهي أم لثلاثة أولاد، وجدة لخمسة أطفال. وتعيش في نامونجو، إحدى المناطق الفقيرة المكتظة بالسكان. وتؤمن إحتياجات أسرتها من المياه من أحد الآبار شديدة التلوث ما يمثل تهديداً للصحة العامة، خاصةً للأطفال الصغار والمرضى المصابين بضعف المناعة.و في إطار اتفاق شراكة بين بروكتر آند جامبل ومنظمة خدمات آلايف الطبية (AMS)،أصبحت مريم منذ عام 2010 تستخدم عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من بروكتر آند جامبل. كانت أسرة مريم قبل استخدام هذه العبوات، تعاني من أمراض متنوعة منقولة بواسطة المياه يتكلف علاجها مبالغ طائلة. والآن باتت مريم أكثر قدرة للحفاظ على صحة أفراد أسرتها، وتوفير المال الذي كانت تخصصه للعلاج. وبذلك أضحت واحدة من الداعمات الملهمات لبرنامج ""مياه نظيفة آمنة للأطفال"" (CSDW)، حيث قررت تثقيف مجتمعها حول فوائد شرب المياه النظيفة.

روزا بي وأسرتها،

أمريكا، تشيلي

تبلغ روزا من العمر 28 عامًا، وهي أمٌ لأربعة أطفال؛ ليسيت وكونستانزا، وهما إبنتان توأم تبلغان من العمر خمسة أعوام، وهيرمان وفرانسيسكو وهما ولدان حديثا السن. نجت روزا وأسرتها من الزلزال المدمر الذي ضرب شيلي في 27 فبراير 2010، وبلغت شدته 8.8 درجة على مقياس ريختر. إلا أنها أصيبت مع أسرتها بأمراض انتقلت إليهم بواسطة المياه عَقِب وقوع الزلزال. وأكدت روزا عبر تجربتها، سهولة استخدام عبوات تنقية المياه من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل، ودورها في شفاء أفراد عائلتها من الأمراض التي كانوا يعانون منها. ومن هذا المنطلق، استمرت روزا وأطفالها في التوعية بأهمية الحصول على مياه شرب نظيفة بين جيرانهم من سكان القرية، حيث يؤكدون على دور المياه النظيفة في إعادة بناء الاقتصاد بعد وقوع الكارثة الطبيعية

كلوديا وجيلبرتو بي،

البرازيل،أمريكا

تعيش هذه الأسرة في الجنوب الشرقي للبرازيل، ولم يكن لديها إلا مصدرٌ واحدٌ للحصول على مياه الشرب وهو نهر ملوث على مقربة من منزلهم. وقد نجم عن شرب الماء من هذا النهر إصابة هذه الأسرة وغيرها من أفراد المجتمع في المنطقة بالأمراض. حصلت أسرة كلوديا وجيلبرتو على عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من بروكتر آند جامبل بموجب اتفاقية الشراكة مع منظمة صندوق الطفل. وبفضل استخدام هذه العبوات، أدركت كلوديا تأثير أهمية المياه النظيفة على صحة أسرتها؛ حيث باتت تعتقد أنه “يمكن تحقيق كل ما تسعى إليه أسرتها من أهداف ما دام أفرادها ينعمون بالصحة والعافية.”

روز إم،

كينيا، أفريقيا

تعيش روز في منطقة كيسومو كونتي شبه الحضرية في غرب كينيا مع زوجها وولديها . وتحرص على الاستفادة من الإمكانات التي توفرها مياه الشرب النظيفة عن طريق عبوات تنقية المياه المبتكرة من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل والتي تهدف إلى تحسين صحة أسرتها ونوعية الحياة بصفة عامة، وذلك مع ما تواجهه من مصاعب بصفة يومية نظراً لإصابتها بفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسبة (HIV). كانت روز في الماضي تستخدم مياه النهر لغسل أطباقها وكمصدر لمياه الشرب، ويتم استخدام هذا النهر من قبل الحيوانات البرية المحلية ما يصيبه بالتلوث. واستعانت روز وزوجها سام وأبنائهما بعبوات تنقية المياه من شركة بروكتر آند جامبل لمدة تسع سنوات لتنقية مياه الشرب التي يحتاجونها. وقد حسنت هذه العبوات نوعية حياتهم بشكل ملحوظ من خلال المساعدة على تجنب الأمراض المنقولة بالماء؛ حيث إنها وزوجها أكثر عرضةً لتلك الأمراض لاسيما مع إصابتهما بفيروس نقص المناعة (HIV).

Our Stories

Boniface

KENYA, AFRICA

Boniface is an energetic 13-year-old boy who attends Gobei Primary School, located in Bondo, a rural region near Kenya's Lake Victoria. As a leader in his school and community, Boniface was elected chairperson of Gobei Primary School's health club, which educates students on using the purifying packets, hand washing and general hygiene. Because of the Purifier of Water packets, he and his classmates have experienced first-hand the power of clean drinking water, which helps to eliminate illness and missed school days, giving the students more time to focus on their education.

Esther Lin and Jean

HAITI, AMERICAS

Ester and Jean's family live in Torbeck, in the Sud province of Haiti. Esther and Jean have two daughters, Priscilla and Abigail, and one son Pierre Louis. In 2016, Hurricane Matthew caused widespread devastation in Haiti, destroying homes and anything in its path. Before the storm, the family was using a well as their primary source for water. After the storm, the water was contaminated but the whole community continued to use it as there was no alternative. People started to become ill from waterborne diseases, and Jean was fearful that her children were going to get sick. After the distribution of P&G packets and training on how to use them, Jean and her family felt safe. Today, her children are back in school and the community is working to restore the water quality of their permanent water sources.

Naw Phaw

MYANMAR, ASIA

Naw Phaw, her husband Peter and their son live in the Gway Tauk Chaung village in Myanmar. It is a village of 100 households, all of which have been using the P&G Purifier of Water packets through P&G's partnership with World Vision. P&G packets have been particularly effective in Myanmar, which is prone to natural disasters including floods, cyclones, droughts and earthquakes. In 2008, in the aftermath of Cyclone Nargis, Myanmar experienced a severe shortage of clean drinking water, and P&G was able to help provide the purifier of water to the Myanmar community where Naw Phaw lives.

Mariam & Family

UGANDA, AFRICA

Mariam is a 58-year old mother of three, grandmother to five, and a great grandmother to one. She lives in a poor and densely-populated area of Namuwongo. Her family accesses water from a nearby well that is severely contaminated and is a threat to the community's health, especially the youngest children and those living with compromised immune systems. Through the partnership between P&G and Alive Medical Services (AMS), Mariam has been a dedicated user of the P&G Purifier of Water packets since 2010. Prior to the P&G Purifier of Water packets, her family suffered from various waterborne diseases that became too costly to treat. Now, Mariam has managed to keep her family healthy and save money. She has become an inspiring advocate for the CSDW Program, choosing to educate her local community on the benefits of clean water.

ROSA B. AND FAMILY

CHILE, AMERICAS

Rosa, a 28-year-old mother of four, has five-year-old twin girls, Lissette and Constanza, and two young boys, Herman and Francisco. Rosa and her family survived the devastating 8.8 Richter scale earthquake that hit Chile on February 27, 2010. Rosa and her family had waterborne illnesses following the earthquake and said the P&G packets were easy to use and helped them get back their health. Rosa and her children continue to share the power of clean drinking water with fellow villagers and remember the powerful role clean water played in helping to rebuild the economy after a natural disaster.

CLAUDIA AND GILBERTO

BRAZIL, AMERICAS

Claudia and Gilberto have four children and live near the community of Araçuai. Living in the dry, dusty rural south-eastern region of Brazil, the family has been drinking water from the only source they have: a contaminated river nearby. The river has caused their family and other community members to contract diseases. Claudia and Gilberto’s family received the P&G Purifier of Water packets through P&G’s partnership with ChildFund. Grateful to have received the packets, Claudia understands the impact the power of clean water can have on her family’s health and believes, “with everyone healthy in the family, we can achieve everything else.”

ROSE

KENYA, AFRICA

Rose lives in a semi-urban area in Kisumu County in Western Kenya with her husband and two teenage children. She uses the power of clean with P&G’s Purifier of Water packets to improve her family’s health and overall quality of life, despite the obstacles that she faces on a daily basis living HIV positive. In the past, Rose used the river water to wash her dishes and source her drinking water, which is shared with the local wildlife that contaminate the water. Rose, her husband Sam, and their children have been using the P&G Purifier of Water packets for nine years to clean their drinking water. The packets have significantly improved their quality of life by helping to avoid waterborne illnesses, of which she and her husband, who is also HIV positive, are particularly susceptible.